The objectives and purposes of the Scranton Diocesan Council of Catholic Women shall be:

  1. To unite Catholic organizations and individual Catholic women of the Diocese of Scranton, to develop their spiritual growth and leadership potential, and to motivate and assist them to act upon current issues of the Church and Society.
  2. To be a medium through which the Catholic women of the Diocese of Scranton may speak and act on matters of common interest.
  3. The SDCCW may conduct their works of charity with NCCW where we are represented with other national or international organizations in the solution of present dpresent-day.
  4. To unite all Catholic women with the Church and its teachings.


The SDCCW consists of the Executive Board of the SDCCW, Presidents of Parish Societies or their duly appointed representatives, Presidents of Inter-parochial Societies (Catholic Daughters of the Americas, Ladies of Charity, etc.) or their duly appointed representatives and representatives of Women’s Religious Communities.

Scranton DCCW Officers and Commission Chairs

President Judith Poltanis 570-470-1536
1163 Roosevelt Highway
Waymart, PA 18472

1st Vice President Ann Murnock 570-689-2519
1073 Mt. Cobb Road
Jefferson Twsp., PA 18436

2nd Vice President Linda Malinowski 570-347-3793
1115 Quincy Ave.
Dunmore, PA 18510

Secretary Mary Lloyd 570-578-6720
821 Center Street
Freeland, PA 18224

Treasurer Helen Oravec 570-489-5231
814 Theresa Street
Peckville, PA 18452

Parliamentarian Evelyn Raitter 570-474-5192
33 Oak Drive
Mountaintop, PA 18707

Rev. James E. McGahagan