Vision Statement:

 

The vision of Youth and Young Adult Ministry in the Diocese of Scranton is to empower members of the Young Church to answer the call of Baptism by living a life of intentional discipleship, and by proclaiming the Gospel of Jesus Christ throughout their journey of faith.

 

Ministry for youth and young adults includes:

 

  • Providing resources, training, and consultation for assistance in the implementation of youth and young adult ministry. Continued support is provided through on-site visits and spiritual formation for Religious Education and Youth Ministry staff.
  • Development of leadership and peer ministry programs on a diocesan level.
  • Diocesan retreat opportunities.
  • Coordinating diocesan participation in conferences and pilgrimages for youth and young adults.

 

Emerge is a peer-facilitated retreat for 10th, 11th, and 12th grade students. The weekend focuses on problem analysis and problem solving skills, active listening, and civil dialogue methods. Emerge was designed by students for students. Participants will participate in small group activities and discussions, large group tasks, free time, private prayer, Eucharistic Adoration, and closing mass.

Retreat check-in begins at 6pm on Friday, July 22nd. Closing activities and pick-up is 11:00am on Sunday, July 24th.

$125 registration fee includes lodging, 5 meals, and retreat materials. Holy Family Retreat Center offers semi-private accommodations. A $50 deposit is due at the time of registration.

Please contact Shannon Kowalski at (570)207-2213 x1155 or skowalski@dioceseofscranton.org if you have any questions.

REGISTER ONLINE NOW IF PAYING WITH CREDIT CARD

REGISTER ONLINE NOW IF PAYING WITH CHECK

 

Youth and Young Adult Ministry Advisory Board:

 

Dominick Costantino | Dominick-Costantino@dioceseofscranton.org
Catherine Butel | Catherine-Butel@dioceseofscranton.org
Father Don Williams | Rev-Donald-Williams@dioceseofscranton.org                                        Kristin Osipower | Kristin.osipower@wilkes.edu
Dori Hurley | hurley@qopchurch.org